Fourthwall vs Stan Store for creators who recommend software
Fourthwall and Stan Store are both built for selling your own products. If your income is commission on software you recommend, both are excellent tools for a job you are not doing. Here is the pricing math, and the honest answer about which creator each one fits.
Curated by · affiliate links clearly labeled
Estimated monthly
from monetized favorites
$
Estimated and illustrative, not a guarantee. Real earnings depend on your audience and what fans buy.
Fourthwall is cheaper for most creators starting out and takes the sales tax problem off your desk; Stan Store costs more up front but takes no percentage of anything and bundles funnels and email on its higher plan. Both are own-product platforms, which means they earn when you sell something of yours. If your income is affiliate commission on software and AI tools you recommend, neither one touches that money, and paying either subscription buys you nothing on the recommendation side of your business.
That last point is the one worth reading twice, because both tools show up constantly in creator commerce roundups next to platforms that do the opposite job. Below is the verified pricing, the breakeven arithmetic between the two, and the honest read on which creator each fits.
Fourthwall vs Stan Store: the short answer
| What you are comparing | Fourthwall | Stan Store |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes, $0 | No, 14 day trial only |
| Paid plan | $19 a month, or $15 billed annually | $29 Creator, $99 Creator Pro |
| Fee on digital products | 5% on free, none on Pro | None on either plan |
| Fee on memberships | 5% | None |
| Card processing | 2.9% + 30 cents | 2.9% + 30 cents on Stripe |
| Merchant of record | Yes, handles sales tax and VAT | Not stated |
| Physical merch | Built in, base cost model | Not the focus |
| Affiliate management | Not the focus | Reported on Creator Pro only |
| Pays you for recommending others products | No | No |
Fourthwall figures were read from its own pricing page on 31 August 2026. Stan Store figures are reported and corroborated across several independent pricing writeups on the same date; its pricing URL did not return readable pricing during this check, so treat those numbers as well supported rather than vendor confirmed.
How much does Fourthwall cost?
Fourthwall runs a free tier at $0 and a Pro tier at $19 a month, or $15 a month billed annually, which its pricing page states saves $48 a year. The fees are where the plans actually differ. On the free plan, digital products carry a 5% flat fee with a 5 GB storage limit. Pro removes that fee and raises the limit to 100 GB. Memberships and subscriptions carry a 5% flat fee on both plans. Products you ship yourself carry no platform fee at all, and catalog merch works on a base cost model where you set the retail price, Fourthwall deducts its cost, and you keep the margin.
US card transactions are charged 2.9% plus 30 cents on top, which the pricing page notes is the same as Shopify. That figure is not avoidable on any platform that takes card payments, so it should never be counted as a point of difference.
How much does Stan Store cost?
Stan Store has no free plan. Creator is reported at $29 a month and Creator Pro at $99 a month, with annual billing reported at $300 and $948 and a 14 day trial on both. The trade is straightforward: you pay a fixed subscription and Stan takes no percentage of your sales, leaving payment processing as your only per sale cost. Reported processing is 2.9% plus 30 cents on Stripe and 3.49% plus 49 cents on PayPal for US domestic cards.
The plan split matters more than the price. Creator covers the storefront, bookings, courses and subscriptions. Email marketing, upsells, funnels, discount codes, affiliate management and pixel tracking are reported as Creator Pro features, which is a $70 a month step up. If the feature you are buying Stan for sits on Pro, the real comparison is $99 against $19, not $29 against $19.
Which is cheaper, Fourthwall or Stan Store?
It depends on what you sell and how much of it, and the crossovers are easy to calculate.
Fourthwall free versus Fourthwall Pro. You are trading a 5% digital fee for $19 a month. Those are equal at $380 a month in digital product sales. Below that, the free plan is cheaper and the upgrade is costing you money. Above it, Pro pays for itself. On annual billing at $15 a month the crossover drops to $300.
Fourthwall Pro versus Stan Store Creator. Stan costs $10 a month more and charges nothing on memberships, while Fourthwall Pro charges 5% on them. Those are equal at $200 a month in membership revenue. A creator with $500 a month in memberships pays Fourthwall $19 plus $25 in fees, so $44, against Stan at $29. A creator with $100 a month in memberships pays Fourthwall $24 against Stan at $29. The answer flips at a fairly low number, which is why a single ranked list cannot serve both creators.
Everything else. If you sell physical merch you designed, Fourthwall is cheaper by a distance because shipped products carry no platform fee and the base cost model is transparent. If you sell nothing of your own, both cost more than they return, and one of them costs $348 a year to do it.
Is Fourthwall the merchant of record?
Yes, and it is the most undervalued line in this comparison. Fourthwall states it operates as the merchant of record, handling payment processing along with sales tax registration, collection and remittance, including US sales tax and international VAT. Stan Store does not state the same thing.
For a creator selling into thirty states and a dozen countries, that is not a feature, it is the removal of an ongoing compliance obligation with real penalties attached. Creators routinely weigh a 5% fee against a $19 subscription and never put a number on the tax work, which for anyone selling at volume is the larger of the three.
Does Stan Store have a free plan?
No. Stan Store offers a 14 day free trial on both plans, but there is no permanently free tier, so the entry cost is $29 a month or $300 for the year. This is a genuine disadvantage against Fourthwall for a creator who is still testing whether they have something to sell, because you are paying before you have validated demand. It is a genuine advantage once you are selling, because a 0% platform fee on real volume beats a percentage every time.
Which one is better for creators who recommend software?
Neither, and this is where most comparisons of these two quietly mislead a whole category of creator. Both platforms are checkout businesses. They earn when money moves through them, which happens when you sell your course, your preset pack, your membership or your merch. A creator whose income is commission on AI tools and SaaS subscriptions they recommend is not moving money through any platform. The merchant sells, the merchant pays the commission, and it arrives from the merchant or the network directly.
That has a consequence worth stating plainly: no platform fee on either tool can reduce your affiliate income, because your affiliate income never passes through either tool. A 0% fee is worth exactly $0 to you. Buying Stan Store Creator for $348 a year to hold a list of affiliate links is paying a checkout subscription to run no checkouts.
What actually decides a software reviewer income is upstream of any of this. It is whether the programs you send people to still credit you when the purchase happens, and whether what you recommend is in a catalog you can link at all. The median B2B software sales cycle is around 84 days while typical SaaS affiliate cookies run 30 to 90, so the median business software decision outlives the standard 30 day window. And only around 27% of affiliate campaigns pay on renewals, which means roughly three in four turn a subscription referral into a single one time payment. Those two numbers move more money than every fee on this page combined.
What should a software reviewer use instead?
If you sell your own products alongside your reviews, keep one of these two, chosen on the arithmetic above. Then handle the recommendation half separately, because it is a different business with different economics. Our creator commerce platform comparison splits the category into the two products it actually contains and covers what to compare in each case, and recurring affiliate programs is the page that matters most if your recommendations are subscriptions, since renewal share is where the compounding happens.
It is also worth being honest about where reviewer income really comes from, which is rarely the newest post. The review you published eighteen months ago is usually the one still ranking and still converting, so the highest leverage work is often re-optimizing pages you already published rather than adding another one to the pile. Update the pricing, re-check the affiliate program terms, and confirm the links still point somewhere that credits you. A dead affiliate link on a page ranking at position three is the most expensive thing on most creator sites.
For the storefront itself, a link in bio tool covers the page mechanics, and SaaS affiliate programs and AI affiliate programs cover what is available to join. If you want the catalog and the recurring economics handled together, that is what Favly is built for: software and AI programs in the catalog, commission paid by the merchant with no cut taken, automatic #ad disclosure, and no application to clear before you start.
The short version
Fourthwall wins on entry cost, physical merch and tax compliance, and is the better default for most creators selling their own things. Stan Store wins once your own product volume is high enough that a fixed fee beats a percentage, and its Pro tier bundles marketing tooling Fourthwall does not try to match. Both are the wrong tool for monetizing recommendations, not because they are weak, but because they were built to process your sales, and a recommendation is not your sale.
Monetize your recommendations with Favly.
Claim your favly.com/@you storefront, add the AI tools, gear and software you recommend, and let Favly attach monetized affiliate links labeled #ad so you earn when fans buy.
▲ keep reading